Today, the world of social media and especially Facebook has taken over countless hours of our lives. We know that in such a chaotic and uncertain world, communication became a fundamental tool that daily generates a potential contact between our family and our social circle.
In many circumstances, these types of applications have a great advantage over a society, such as freedom of expression, contact with our people, disclosure of information, offer of services, awareness campaigns, marketing, job prospects, among many others. other things.
But, as in everything, these applications have a negative side, because unfortunately it takes us away and diverts our attention from much more important things. The truth is that there was a time where we lived without any communication and in most cases that did not represent any problem.
Despite the benefits and disadvantages that we can find in having an active account within social networks, there are many reasons to want to close one of them, especially that of Facebook . Whether you are tired of ignoring your environment, wanting to get more out of your time or for security reasons, in this post we will teach you how to close your account permanently. Then you have to worry about what to do with so much free time.
Difference between suspending and deleting a Facebook account
There is a big difference between deleting a Facebook account permanently and suspending it for a while , and between both you will find certain disadvantages.
The moment you decide to suspend a Facebook account it does not disappear completely, you have simply hidden yourself from the radar for an indefinite time, but all the data in your profile still exists somewhere on the network.
The only thing you get with this process is that from that moment on nobody will be able to see your profile, but it is likely that certain information that you shared with your friends or posts where you were tagged is still visible among your contacts, as well as your name on their list. of friends.
It is worth mentioning that if you block your Facebook account and you still have the Messenger application active you will still be able to chat with your contacts, your profile picture will be seen in the messages and other people can contact you this way.
One of the advantages of only suspending your account is that you will be able to return to the network at the moment you decide to do so , with all your data and information intact. You just have to have access to your email account or your phone number and voila, you’ll be back on Facebook. Another important point is that the accounts of other applications that are associated with it, will not undergo any changes and you will continue to have access.
We remind you that before you decide to permanently close your account, you must download all the photos and videos you want, of course those found on Facebook, since you will no longer have another opportunity to recover them.
Steps to close a Facebook account
Clarified the above, now we will show you how to permanently delete your Facebook account. To do this you just have to follow these simple steps
Within the Facebook application, go to the upper right of the screen and click on the button that has the image of an inverted triangle . When doing this, several options will be displayed and you must select the “configuration” option.
From there you can follow these two similar routes, depending on whether you will do it from your mobile device or from a computer:
From a mobile device:
Settings and privacy> Settings> Your Facebook information> Account ownership and control> Deactivation and deletion> Delete account
From a computer:
Settings> Your Facebook information> Delete your account > Delete account
When you have selected the option to “delete account” it will ask you for your password and finally fill in a captcha as a protocol to complete the operation.
Benefits of deleting a Facebook account
After deleting your account, no person will be able to see or access your profile picture again, all your photos, comments and documents that you have saved will be permanently deleted without being able to recover them again. Messenger will be disabled and finally you will not be able to use those applications that you linked to your Facebook account.
Messages that you once sent to someone are likely to be unaffected as they are inside their message inbox, and that is already someone else’s private property.
If after having thought it through very well the repentance overcomes you, the only advantage you have is that you can recover your account again, as long as you do it within the first 30 days. To do this you just have to log in to your Facebook account and click on the “cancel deletion” option. It’s as if Facebook really doesn’t want you to leave their community.
After that time, your account will be completely out of your reach, but there will always be the option to create a new account, which in no way we recommend you do if you have already made a decision to delete it.
Finally, 90 days must pass before your account is officially deleted and all traces of you on the network disappear . It should be noted that during the time it takes to delete your information, no person or contact will be able to access your profile.